DERRY TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Minutes, July 5, 2017 Regular Meeting

7:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Derry Township Board of Supervisors was called to order in the Municipal Building at 5321 Route 982, Derry, PA at 7:00 p.m. and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to adjourn the previous meeting.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Members present were: Vincent DeCario, David Slifka, and James Prohaska-Supervisors; Terry Giannini-Code Enforcement Officer; and Joseph Dalfonso-Solicitor

The meeting was opened to the public for comments:

Randy Ankney asked why Jake Brake Ordinance is being adopted. If it was for noise, asked what could be done about motorcycle noise. A discussion was held.

Vicki Shaffer thanked supervisors for the demolition of St. Clair Street property.

Chuck Shadron of Chestnut Highlands thanked supervisors for trimming trees on Pandora and Greenfield Roads.

Joann Cinibulk asked questions about mandatory garbage collection. A discussion was held.

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve Minutes of June 6, 2017.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the Payroll of June 1, 15 and 29, 2017 for payment.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve the bills of June 1, 14 and 28, 2017 for payment.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the Treasurer's Report for June 2017.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve ordinance No 160-2017 providing for the prohibition of the use of engine brake retarders within the township while traveling on State Route 982 from segment 350 offset 2800 to segment 380; while traveling on State Route 217 from segment 50 offset 800 to segment 80 offset 100.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to review the Borbonus Subdivision located off Piper's Road contingent upon the approval of the Westmoreland County Department of Planning:

Approval of this plan does not constitute acceptance of the streets as dedicated and laid out on said plan until they are developed to the Township's specifications at which time formal written notice of acceptance of dedication will be delivered by the Derry Township Board of Supervisors to the developer.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to review the Wagner Subdivision located off State Park Road contingent upon the approval of the Westmoreland County Department of Planning:

Approval of this plan does not constitute acceptance of the streets as dedicated and laid out on said plan until they are developed to the Township's specifications at which time formal written notice of acceptance of dedication will be delivered by the Derry Township Board of Supervisors to the developer.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to review the Reeves Subdivision located off Route 981 contingent upon the approval of the Westmoreland County Department of Planning:

Approval of this plan does not constitute acceptance of the streets as dedicated and laid out on said plan until they are developed to the Township's specifications at which time formal written notice of acceptance of dedication will be delivered by the Derry Township Board of Supervisors to the developer.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to recess until Tuesday, August 1, 2017 at 7 p.m.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes